ICTP has awarded its 2015 Dirac Medal and Prize to Alexei Kitaev (California Institute of Technology), Gregory W. Moore (Rutgers University) and Nicholas Read (Yale University) for their interdisciplinary contributions which introduced the concepts of conformal field theory and non-abelian quasiparticle statistics in condensed matter systems and applied these ideas to quantum computation. Their work has played a fundamental role in recent advances in our understanding of the quantum states of matter and quantum entanglement theory. Read more in the Caltech Media story the ICTP citation or John Preskill’s blog post on Quantum Frontiers.