Alexei Y. Kitaev

Congratulations to Alexei Kitaev and Xiao-Gang Wen of MIT, 2017 winners of the Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize. “For theories of topological order and its consequences in a broad range of physical systems.
The purpose of the prize is to recognize and encourage outstanding theoretical or experimental contributions to condensed matter physics. Read more in this Caltech Media story.

Xiao-Gang Wen was a Caltech Moore Scholar in 2006 and 2007. During his stay at Caltech he presented a series of lectures for students and faculty, and was an active member of the theory community.